“Behind every great man, there is a great woman.”

History: Apparently, this quote was popular before the Second World War but the first appearance was in the newspaper “The Port Arthur News” in February 1946. Comically, the newspaper used it differently than how the quote is used nowadays: “As he received his trophy, the plucky quarterback unfolded the story of how he ‘came back’. He said, ‘They say behind every great man there’s a woman. While I’m not a great man, there’s a great woman behind me.’ “

What it means to me: The quote can usually be interpreted that women always stand behind and not beside successful men. I understand it in a very different way; I believe that a great man can shine stronger when a great woman is by their side (and vice versa!).

The quote, to me, shows that we all need support and, in my case, I think about my partner. This quote suggests that men and women scarcely succeed by themselves and that when success comes, it will be shared between the couple. I think that a strong couple willing to succeed independently while also supporting and helping each other will be more likely to succeed together.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.