Book Review: A Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin plunges you into a medieval world where magic, dragons and the undead are no longer a myth. The popular TV series of the same name is based on Martin’s novels. For every fan of heroic fantasy, this is an essential read.

What I liked: I found the storyline excellent, the author had clearly planned the story; we follow many characters yet still keep an easy comprehension of the surroundings. The world itself, vast and complex, is brilliant. We get to know the characters quickly due to a continuous swapping of the main character. The swapping of characters at each chapter made it easy to follow the sequence of time. The author does an amazing job at keeping the reader on track.

My favourite quotes: My favourite moment was at the end of a conversation between Jon Snow and Tyrion Lannister. After describing Tyrion, a dwarf, on page 48 as having a head “too large for his body, with a brute’s squashed-in face beneath a swollen shelf of brow,” Jon Snow says on page 54 that, regardless of all these negativities, with the help of light, his shadow made him stand “tall as a king.” I love the image this writing portrays, showing that being chivalrous is not only for the elite.

On page 14, as Ned Stark chopped off the head of an oath-breaker, Bran Stark, his son, asked “can a man still be brave if he’s afraid?” to which Ned replied with “that is the only time a man can be brave.” This quote resonates with me. I feel like when there are no challenges, how can it be possible to show the best of yourself?

On page 121, as Tyrion is talking with Jon, he tells him that “most men would rather deny a hard truth than face it.” This quote echoed strongly with me and what I ‘m trying to avoid in my daily life. The easy path is not necessarily the right one and hard choices can be more rewarding – fight for what you want even if it’s difficult!

What I disliked: Something that confused me was the overuse of sex; was it a splendid trick to plunge the reader into the dark, cold, barbaric world of the game of thrones or was it just there for pleasure reading?

Also, while I enjoyed getting to know the individual characters, sometimes, as I found myself ready to read more about a character, the story had already moved on to the next.

Book purchased at City Mission Op Shop in Wellington, New Zealand // 780 pages // finished April 9, 2020

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.